Our iPhone gives us all the comfort we could ever need, right? It gives us access to the map when we’re lost, access to the Internet when we want more information, and even access to social media when we’re bored.
You may not realize how much information you have been sharing with others and may have forgotten about. Apple has a handy new feature called Security Checkup that will walk you through what you’ve shared and with whom and how to revoke access. If you’ve ever felt like someone was tracking you, be sure to check out these settings.
What is security control?
If you’ve recently updated your iPhone to the latest iOS 16 software, you’ll notice the new Security Checkup feature that comes with the update. Safety Check was created by Apple for users who feel their personal safety is at risk from either stalking or harassment.
When Safety Check is enabled, it allows you to choose who you’re sharing information with. It also restricts messages and FaceTime to an iPhone, resets system privacy permission for apps, changes passcodes, changes an Apple ID password, and more.
HOW TO TURN YOUR CAMERA AND ZOOM USING FACETIME
Where can I find Safety Check on my iPhone?
- Go to your Settings app
- Scroll down and select Privacy and security
- Scroll down and select Security Check
- What apps use Safety Check when it’s enabled?
The following apps will stop sharing information with people you’ve restricted once Security Checkup is enabled:
- shared calendars
- Shared location using Find My
- shared notes
- Shared photos (including shared library and shared albums)
- When enabled, what information is no longer shared with Safety Check?
- When Safety Check is enabled, it will delete all data collected by the following apps, networks, and features:
- files and folders
- Local network
- location services
- Apple Music and Media
- movement and fitness
- XSvoice recognition
HOW TO SEND SPAM CALLS DIRECTLY TO VOICEMAIL ON YOUR PHONE
What features are available in Safety Check?
Safety Check comes with three main features.
1. Emergency reset
The first feature to notice within Safety Check is emergency reset.This is available to anyone who wants to immediately restore access for all people and apps, as well as review and reset all settings associated with their Apple ID.
- Your location will no longer be shared in Find My
- Your privacy permissions for all apps will be reset
- Messages and FaceTime will be restricted to your iPhone
2. Manage sharing and access
If you only want to restrict sharing with certain people, you can selectManage sharing and access.This will allow you to customize which people and applications can access your information.
3. Quick Exit
Finally, in case you need to quickly hide the information you’re configuring within your Safety Check app, all you have to do is tap the Quick Exit button, and it will save the changes you’ve made and bring you back immediately. to the Security Check home page. No one will be able to access the changes you have made in the meantime.
CLICK HERE TO GET THE FOX NEWS APP
Once you click Manage Sharing and Access, it will take you to lists of your contacts, apps, and other devices (Mac laptops, iPads, etc.). You will then be able to choose with whom and what you want to share your information with. All your actions will be saved and you can always come back to Security Checkup later and change your work.
You can find quick tips and tools for your iPhone by searching for ‘iPhone’ on CyberGuy.com.