HomeTechnologyNobel panel to announce Physics Prize winner

Nobel panel to announce Physics Prize winner

STOCKHOLM (AP) — The winner or winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics will be announced Tuesday at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm.

Although physicists often tackle problems that at first glance seem far removed from everyday concerns—tiny particles and the great mysteries of space and time—their research provides the foundation for many practical applications of science.

Last year, the prize was awarded to three scientists – Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi – whose work has helped explain and predict the complex forces of nature, thus expanding our understanding of climate change.

A week of Nobel Prize announcements began Monday with Swedish scientist Svante Paabo receiving the prize in medicine on Monday for uncovering secrets of Neanderthal DNA that provided key information about our immune systems.

They continue with chemistry on Wednesday and literature on Thursday. The 2022 Nobel Peace Prize will be announced on Friday and the one for economics on October 10.

Political Cartoons

The prizes have a cash prize of 10 million Swedish kronor (nearly $900,000) and will be awarded on December 10. The money comes from a legacy left by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who died in 1895.

Follow all AP stories about the Nobel Prizes at https://apnews.com/hub/nobel-prizes

Copyright 2022 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Source link

- Advertisment -

Most Popular